The Seven Chakras

The Seven Chakras

Posted on Posted in Spiritual Healing

I am sure many of you have heard the term “Chakra” somewhere. Do you know what it means or how important it is to your physical and spiritual health? A few years ago I didn’t either. After I regularly began to meditate, I’ve now come to realize how these little guys actually impact our  daily lives in a very serious way. Chakras are connected to illness, obesity, anxiety, sleep deprivation and many more issues that we often struggle with.

What Are Chakras?

Evison a wheel spinning, a funnel like wheel, sort of like a tornado. What do tornadoes do? They pull in everything around them don't they? Chakras are pretty similar in this way. They are funnel like spiritual centers that draw in all the energies around them.  They pull in the negativity, positivity and everything in between that you are exposed to. The seven main chakras are located from the base of your pelvis all the way to the crown of your head. Like every other part of your body, it takes hygiene to keep it healthy and in order--Chakras are no different! It is not possible to only be exposed to the beauty in life. You will cross broken people, angry people, and down right evil ones. Beyond the people you encounter you will endure situations that challenge you, hurt you and sometimes scar you. These are the things you must clean your chakras of in order to free your spirit and reach your highest potential.


The Chakras of Matter


Root Chakra (Muladhara)

It is located at the base of the spine and is responsible for our sense of security and fearlessness. It is also related to what makes us feel stable in life, such as food, shelter, etc. It is blocked by fear.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Located at the lower pubic bone, It is related to our creativity and sexual instincts and most importantly pleasure. It is blocked by guilt.

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

Located from the breast bone down to the navel. It is associated with the presence of personal power. It is blocked by shame.


Chakra of Matter and Spirit


The Heart Chakra (anahata)

Resides in the heart of course! It is responsible for uniting the chakras of spirit and chakras of Matter. It is the connection of our spirit, emotions, mind  and body. It is blocked by grief.


The Chakras of Spirit


Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Located in the throat, this chakra is in charge of communication and verbal expression. The key here is truth. It is blocked by lies.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Residing between our eyebrows, it is associated with intuition. It is blocked by illusion.

Crown Chakra (Sahaswara)

Located at the crown of the head, it  is responsible for spiritual enlightenment and accessing our higher selves. The idea here is reaching the pure cosmic energies of the universe and  it is blocked by earthly attachments.

As silly as it might seem, I feel that the best representation of what chakras are actually comes from a cartoon! The Avatar: The Last Air Bender implements the chakras into the story line and highlights the meaning of each one. Aang, the main character, must open each one successfully—it is actually the only way the main character will be able to reach his fullest potential, and unlock his avatar abilities. Read between the lines here folks! Opening your chakras is the only way that you will ever be able to become the best version of yourself and reach your highest potential. Take a look at this clip from the show!

Note: The subtitles are in Portuguese but the audio is English.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.